# **Business & Tax Climate**

SCAN ME! For more information

County Judge Lina Hidalgo Commissioner, Precinct 1 Rodney Ellis Commissioner, Precinct 2 Adrian Garcia Commissioner, Precinct 3 Tom S. Ramsey Commissioner, Precinct 4 Lesley Briones

**Department of Economic Equity & Opportunity** 713.274.1400

# Harris County Has...





State or Local Corporate Tax



3% LOWER Cost of Living Compared to the U.S.

#### **Deregulated Energy Market**

With a deregulated energy market in the State of Texas, Harris County electricity users enjoy a selection of retail providers competing for their business.

# **Unemployment Insurance**

2.7% general entry rate, charged on first \$9,000 in earnings, reassessed after 6 quarters and charged at own experience rate.

## Workers' Compensation Insurance

Not required by the State of Texas. Options include: self-insurance, state-operated Texas Mutual or licensed private insurance company.

## Licenses & Permits

Varies by industry and regulatory agency. Please visit the State of Texas Portal and/or the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulations.

# Property Tax (2023 Rates)

Tax rates are per \$100 Certified Taxable Appraised Value

The same tax rates apply to all items

The following items are taxed in the **State of Texas**:

**Real Property** (includes land and building)

Tangible Personal Property means personal property that can be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or otherwise perceived by the senses. See Property Tax Code for definitions.

# Franchise Tax (Varies by Report Year)

1001 Preston • Houston, TX 77002

hcoed.harriscountytx.gov

0.75% for most entities

0.375% for gualifying wholesalers and retailers

0.331% for those entities with \$20 million or less in Total Revenue and electing the E-Z Computation

#### Sales & Use Tax

8.25% maximum sales tax composite

0% for Harris County

6.25% for the State of Texas

Up to 2% for other Entities, as applicable

## **Application for Registration** to do Business

\$750, required to do business in Texas for non-U.S. corporations, LLC, LPs and out-of-state entities. Please visit the Texas Secretary of State for details.

# **Doing Business As (DBA)**

**\$24 + \$0.50** for each additional name filed in Harris County (A DBA filing is required if not incorporated or if doing business under a name other than that in which the business was incorporated). Please visit Harris County Clerk's Office for details.

#### Harris County Property Tax

Harris County	\$0.35007
Flood Control District	\$0.03105
Port of Houston	\$0.00574
Hospital District	\$0.14343
Total Property Tax	<b>\$0.53029*</b>

\*Depending on the property's location, tax rates from other entities apply. Check Harris County Appraisal District to find out the entities levying taxes for your property.