
Unemployment Insurance
2.7% general entry rate, charged on first $9,000 in 
earnings, reassessed after 6 quarters and charged 
at own experience rate.

Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Not required by the State of Texas. Options include: 
self-insurance, state-operated Texas Mutual or 
Licensed private insurance company.

Licenses & Permits
Varies by industry and regulatory agancy. Please 
visit the State of Texas Portal and/or the Texas 
Department of Licensing & Regulations.
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Department of Economic Equity & Opportunity
713.274.1400

hcoed.harriscountytx.gov

Harris County Has... Franchise Tax (Varies by Report Year)
0.75% for most entities

0.375% for qualifying wholesalers and retailers

0.331% for those entities with $20 million or 
less in Total Revenue and electing the E-Z
Computation

Sales and Use Tax
8.25% maximum sales tax composite

0% for Harris County

6.25% for the State of Texas

Up to 2% for other entities, as applicable

Application for Registration  
to do Business
$750, required to do business in Texas for non-U.S. 
corporations, LLCs, LPs and out-of-state entities.
Please visit the Texas Secretary of State for details.

Foreign businesses must also file Benefit Ownership 
Information within 30 days of Texas Secretary of State 
Approval. Please visit U.S. Department of Treasury  
for details.

Doing Business As (DBA) 
$24 + $0.50 for each additional name filed in Harris 
County (a DBA filing is required if not incorporated or if 
doing business under a name other than that which the 
business was incorporated). Please visit Harris County 
Clerk’s Office for details.

Property Tax (2024 Rates)
Tax rates are per $100 Certified Taxable Appraised Value
The same tax rates apply to all items
The following items are taxed in the State of Texas:

Real Property (includes land and building)
Tangible Personal Property means personal property that 
can be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or otherwise perceived 
by the senses, See Property Tax Code for definitions.

State of Texas
Harris County

Flood Control District
Port of Houston
Hospital District

Total Property Tax

$0
$0.38529
$0.04897
$0.00615
$0.16348
$0.60389*

Deregulated Energy Market
With a deregulated energy market in the State of Texas, 
Harris County electricity users enjoy a selection of retail 
providers competing for their business.
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County Judge
 Commissioner, Precinct 1 
Commissioner, Precinct 2
Commissioner, Precinct 3
Commissioner, Precinct 4

Lina Hidalgo
Rodney Ellis
Adrian Garcia
Tom S. Ramsey
Lesley Briones

Scan for  
more information

Sources: Economic Policy Institute, Family Budget Map (as of January 2025); Energy Texas; Harris Central Appraisal District; Harris County; Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, 
2025 Franchise Tax Rates; Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation; Texas Property Tax Code; Texas Secretary of State; Texas Workforce Commission, Unemployment 
Insurance; U.S. Department of Treasury, Financial Crimes Enforcement Network

*Depending on the property’s location, tax rates from other entities apply. Check Harris Central Appraisal District to find out the entities levying taxes for your property.
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